Golden Heart Yoga

Experience the true essence of yoga!

Kundalini Yoga Q-and-A with Wendy Resnick

Please tell us a little bit about yourself.

A native of Maryland, I am 54 years old, was born and raised in Baltimore, and have been married for 30 years. Marc and I have two daughters, ages 23 and 25, and live in Millersville with our two dogs – miniature long-haired dachshunds.

I have always been interested in the mind, human development and behavior which led me to Nursing and ultimately, into the field of Psychiatry.

I am a Nurse Practitioner in Psychiatry and have worked for 35 years in various hospitals, private practice, and teaching. I am on the Faculty at Catholic University of America and am a Trainer for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention; CurePSP, a Foundation that helps people with Parasupranuclear Palsy and other Brain Diseases; and The Compassionate Friends, an organization for bereaved parents.

I have practiced Yoga and Meditation since I was a teenager and have always enjoyed group fitness and athletics. I have taught and played tennis competitively throughout my life. I enjoy music, playing guitar and piano, gardening, nature, and reading spiritually-inspiring literature, and journaling.

In recent years, my career has evolved into the field of health promotion and wellness. I teach Yoga, Pilates, Zumba, and Barre classes in various health clubs in the area. Kundalini Yoga is my spiritual foundation and inspires everything in my life and in all of my teaching. I teach Kundalini Yoga at Golden Heart Yoga and at Ridgely Retreat.

How did you first encounter Kundalini Yoga?

I took my first Kundalini Yoga class at Evolutions in Annapolis approximately three years ago. The class followed a Hatha yoga class that I took on a Sunday, so I thought I would try it. The teacher wore white and sat on a soft mat, which looked different and interesting. I had never tried anything like it!

That same year, I had the opportunity to train with a renowned master teacher of Kundalini Yoga from Asia, Sunder Khalsa, who offered a residential training over the course of three weeks – we lived, ate, practiced, and learned together. The experience of the training opened my heart and mind to the great teachings of this form of Yoga and was deeply transformational.

What about Kundalini Yoga inspires you?

As a teacher, what I love most about Kundalini Yoga is that anyone and everyone can do it! Whether you are brand new to Yoga or a highly conditioned athlete, or anywhere in between, the practice delivers amazing immediate results and profound long- term benefits. Kundalini Yoga is safe, simple, and comprehensive.

Movement, postures, breathwork practices, meditation, and sound healing with the Gong strengthen the flow of healing energy through the body, improving physical health and fitness, relieving stress and allowing us to deeply relax and enjoy life.

What inspires me most about this form of Yoga is the combination of the physical practice and meditation together. With continued practice, I have found a connection with my inner Self that has transformed my life in every way. The calm mind that develops from this practice has elevated my life and my ability to help others more deeply; becoming a more effective human being and teacher.

What advice do you have for someone who is curious about trying Kundalini Yoga? What should a student expect for his or her first class?

It may be helpful to include a brief description of Kundalini Yoga -

Kundalini Yoga promotes an acute awareness or expanded consciousness of the body, mind, and spirit within. It directly stimulates and revitalizes the immune, nervous, and glandular systems while helping rid the body of toxins and negative emotions. The practice melts tensions of the mind and body and brings with it an increase in energy, vitality, health, and well-being. Meditation and chanting clear the brain of its chatter (conscious and unconscious) and enable clarity to flourish.

The healing benefits of Kundalini Yoga that you can expect from your first class are profound.

  • Increased physical vitality and emotional stability
  • Decreased stress, anxiety, depression and insomnia
  • Alleviated PMS, pre and post menopausal symptoms
  • Balance of your glandular system and increased metabolic activity for weight loss and control
  • Quieting your mind and connecting to yourself on a deeper level

How do you incorporate your yoga practice or lessons from Yoga into your daily life?

In this time of great transition on our planet, we are all faced with great challenges on a daily basis. Some are small challenges and others test us to the very limits of our strength. The ancient art and science of Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan provides practical tools for embracing life’s challenges with grace, courage, and joy.

Kundalini Yoga is a scientific technology for happiness. It has taught me to be true to my self and to be my true self. My daily mantra is “Elevate”. Each day, I live to elevate myself as well as each and every person I meet.

Is there anything else you’d like to share about Kundalini Yoga?

In the words of Yogi Bhajan, “We are not human beings trying to have a spiritual experience; but rather spirit having a human experience.”

Come to Kundalini Yoga class on Sundays at 11:15 a.m. and manifest this deep connection. Happiness is your birthright…the greatest possibility of life.

One comment on “Kundalini Yoga Q-and-A with Wendy Resnick

  1. Pingback: Kundalini Yoga Q-and-A with Wendy Resnick « Golden Heart Yoga | Healthy Mind And Body Yoga

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 27, 2012 by in Teacher Profiles, Types of Yoga and tagged , , .

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

